Sauter au contenu principal
Displaying 1 of 1
Dory and the real true friend
2015
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Disponibilité
Map It
Grande image couverture
Critiques de la presse spécialisée

  Commentaire hebdomadaire des maisons d'édition

In a sequel every bit as delightful as its predecessor, Hanlon follows the wildly imaginative star of Dory Fantasmagory to school, where Dory attempts to make a "real" friend (as opposed to the monsters she plays with at home). She is immediately drawn to a princess-loving girl named Rosabelle, but Dory's overtures of friendship don't initially hit their mark: " `Do you want some floppy cookies?' I whisper to her, which is my nickname for salami because I love it so much. She does not." Once again, Hanlon's hilarious narration and cartooning reveal an uncanny talent for getting into the mile-a-minute mind of a one-of-a-kind girl. Ages 6-8. Agent: Ann Tobias, A Literary Agency for Children's Books. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

  Commentaire du journal de la bibliothèque scolaire

Gr 2-4-Dory has quite the imagination. She has a monster for a friend, a fairy godmother who understands her, and a nemesis named Mrs. Gobble Gracker. When Dory starts a new year at school, however, she decides that it's time to make a real pal. After all, her monster friend caused a lot of trouble. Rosabelle, a girl her age who has an amazing imagination just like Dory seems like a good option. But Rosabelle doesn't seem to want to spend any time with her. Can Dory win her over? What will happen when Mrs. Gobble Gracker gets in the way? The story is well written, humorous, and engaging. The illustrations are amazingly detailed and complement the text well. The characters are fairly well developed and will grab young readers. Fans of Annie Barrows's "Ivy and Bean" (Chronicle), Barbara Park's "Junie B. Jones" (Random), and books with a little bit of humor and fantasy mixed into a school setting will enjoy reading this second installment in the "Dory" series. VERDICT A great addition to any library collection.-Kira Moody, Whitmore Public Library, Salt Lake City, UT © Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Résumé
Fans of Junie B. Jones and Ivy and Bean will love this new story about the spunky little rascal with big ideas. <br> <br> The star of Dory Fantasmagory is heading to school. Her older siblings, Luke and Violet, warn her to leave her imaginary friend, Mary, at home--or better yet, leave her whole imagination at home! But on her very first day she meets a new friend, a girl whose imagination and style are just about as wild as her own. Now she just has to convince her siblings that she's not making it all up!<br> <br> Filled with plenty of funny pictures, this book bursts with charm and impudence, making this a must-read for the chapter book set.<br>
Aperçu du bibliothècaire
Displaying 1 of 1