주 콘텐츠로 건너뀌기
Displaying 1 of 1
The 7 1/2 deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
2018
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
이용 가능성
지도로 찾기
큰 표지 이미지
업계 리뷰

  Publishers Weekly Review

Turton's complex debut blends mystery with Groundhog Day and Quantum Leap. Guests have been invited to the Hardcastle family manse, the dilapidated Blackheath House in the English countryside, for a masquerade ball that the Hardcastles are holding for the return of their daughter, Evelyn, from Paris. At the novel's start, several days before the ball, an unnamed protagonist comes upon Blackheath and enlists those inside to find the body of a woman he thinks has just been murdered. He's forgotten his identity, but people at the house think he's Dr. Sebastian Bell, an invitee to the ball. It turns out Bell is the first of eight people-invited guests of the Hardcastles, their associates, staff, and a police officer-whom the main character will inhabit over eight days in a repeating loop. This loop revolves around two mysteries: who killed young Thomas Hardcastle 19 years ago, and who murders Evelyn, his older sister, the night of the ball? As the hero amasses clues about the past and present, a mysterious costumed "Plague Doctor" chimes in to direct the action, explaining the only escape from this loop is to expose the identity of Evelyn's murderer. This is a complicated, twisting plot that may delight some looking for a puzzle but may leave others exasperated at the overly abstruse rules and kitchen-sink concept. (Sept.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
개요
<p>"Agatha Christie meets Groundhog Day...quite unlike anything I've ever read, and altogether triumphant."--A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Woman in the Window</p> <p>The Rules of Blackheath<br> Evelyn Hardcastle will be murdered at 11:00 p.m.<br> There are eight days, and eight witnesses for you to inhabit.<br> We will only let you escape once you tell us the name of the killer.<br> Understood? Then let's begin...</p> <p>***<br> Evelyn Hardcastle will die. Every day until Aiden Bishop can identify her killer and break the cycle. But every time the day begins again, Aiden wakes up in the body of a different guest. And some of his hosts are more helpful than others.</p> <p>For fans of Claire North and Kate Atkinson,The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastleis a breathlessly addictive novel that follows one man's race against time to find a killer-- but an astonishing time-turning twist means that nothing and no one are quite what they seem.</p> <p>Praise for The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle:<br> Costa First Novel Award 2018 Winner<br> One of Stylist Magazine's 20 Must-Read Books of 2018<br> One of Harper's Bazaar's 10 Must-Read Books of 2018<br> One of Guardian's Best Books of 2018</p>
도서 리뷰
Displaying 1 of 1