Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Caraval
2017
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Map It
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  New York Times Review

"Caraval" is "The Night Circus" Jr., with a dash of "Alice in Wonderland" and a sprinkle of "Fantasy Island." There are wish-growing seeds, drinkable gold, bowler hats covered in taxidermy crows, and gowns "the color of late-night laughter, early-morning sunshine, and waves crashing around ankles." It's the Elantine Dynasty, and Scarlett Dragna gets an invitation to Caraval, a magic carnival run by Legend, a top-hatted ringmaster. Julian, a sailor with impressive abs, whisks Scarlett and her sister off to Legend's private isle, where the games are more sinister than Scarlett imagined. For most of the book, neither Scarlett nor the reader knows what's real and what isn't. Can players die? How tightly does Legend's magic bind his performers? As a result, there's no sense of urgency, and the pleonastic prose got me woozy: Scarlett's "smoky-ginger prickle of discomfort"; Julian's kisses that taste "like midnight and wind." But Garber's way with fashion made me swoon: a magical dress shifts on Scarlett's body in accordance with her moods. If blood and madness, "shameless curves and immoral promises" entice you, well, come to the cabaret.

  Publishers Weekly Review

Sisters Scarlett and Donatella "Tella" Dragna have always dreamed of going to Caraval-a once-a-year, multiday event that is part magical spectacle, part treasure hunt. With only a week before Scarlett's wedding to a man she's never met, Tella runs away to Caraval and arranges for Scarlett to be abducted by a sailor named Julian and secretly taken to Caraval too. But when Scarlett arrives, she discovers that Tella has become the prize of the game, and all the players are searching for her. In order to save both herself and her sister, Scarlett must figure out the ambiguous clues and confounding puzzles and journey through a magical world where secrets and plots abound, nothing is as it seems, and no one is to be trusted. Actor Soler's narration, by turns curious, afraid, frustrated, and exhilarated, immediately draws the listener into this world. In a story full of colorful characters, she gives each one a distinct voice that is faithful to their descriptions in the text. This magical fairy tale will thrill lovers of fantasy and mystery. Ages 13-up. A Flatiron hardcover. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

  School Library Journal Review

Gr 8 Up-Scarlett and her sister, Donatella, have been raised on a remote island by a demanding and cruel father. Scarlett is about to be married to a man she's never met, and though her long-held dream of receiving an invitation to Caraval, the once-a-year, fantastical, immersive performance, has come true, she believes attending would jeopardize her wedding and destroy her sole chance to get herself and Tella away from their father. When her sister teams up with a sailor to trick Scarlett onto a ship and take her anyway, the heroine plans to stay for a night or two, then return home for her wedding. But then Tella is kidnapped by Legend, Caraval's mysterious mastermind, and the protagonist learns that she can get her sister back only if she plays Legend's game for five nights-and wins. It won't be easy, though. Nothing (and no one) at Caraval is what it seems: time speeds up, clothing morphs according to its own agenda, and players may be called on to pay for things with their deepest fears or two days of their lives. Without knowing whom she can trust, including her own reason and senses, Scarlett must work out where her sister is and how to save her. This twisty, terrifically fun page-turner is ideal for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, Neil Gaiman's Stardust, and fantasy novels where relationships between sisters drive the plot, such as "The Hunger Games" or Rosamund Hodge's Cruel Beauty. VERDICT A must-have fantasy debut for high school collections.-Stephanie Klose, School Library Journal © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Summary
<p> The acclaimed New York Times bestseller! Welcome, welcome to Caraval -- Stephanie Garber's sweeping tale of the unbreakable bond between two sisters. It's the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world... <br> <br> Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett's father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.</p> <p>But this year, Scarlett's long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval's mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season's Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.</p> <p>Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.</p> <p>Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.</p> <p> New York Times bestseller <br> #1 IndieNext Pick <br> Publishers Weekly Flying Start <br> Entertainment Weekly Best 10 YA Books of 2017 <br> Teen Vogue Best YA Book of the Year <br> Amazon Best Book of the Year <br> Barnes & Noble Best Book of the Year <br> BuzzFeed Best Book of the Year <br> " The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus . Grade: A-." -- Entertainment Weekly <br> "Impressive, original, wondrous. " -- USA Today <br> "Spellbinding." -- US Weekly <br> "Magnificent." -- Publishers Weekly , starred review<br> "I lost myself in this world." --Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes <br> "Beautifully written." --Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn <br> "Shimmers with magic." --Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner's Curse <br> "Darkly enchanting." --Kiersten White, author of And I Darken <br> "Decadent." --Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen <br> "Like stepping into a living dream." --Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon <br> "Destined to capture imaginations." -- Kirkus Reviews <br> " Ideal for fans of The Night Circus , Stardust , and The Hunger Games. " -- School Library Journal <br></p>
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1