Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The storm runner
2018
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Map It
Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

  School Library Journal Review

Gr 4-8-Zane Obispo has a pretty sweet life: a mom who loves him; his fun, wrestling-loving Uncle Hondo; eccentric, caring neighbors; a loyal dog; and his very own backyard volcano. The downside is he'll be starting a new school, where he knows kids will make fun of his limp and his cane. When Zane and his dog Rosie discover a secret entrance to the volcano, Zane has no idea they've just put an ancient prophecy into motion, one that features him as a main player. Soon he meets a shape-shifter named Brooks who tells Zane that not only is Zane supernatural, but it is foretold that he plays a role in releasing Ah-Puch-the Mayan god of death, disaster, and darkness-from his prison in the volcano. Zane learns that there is more truth to the myths in his Mayan book than he ever imagined and that his father-whom he has never know-is also a major part of the prophecy. Zane sets off a chain of events that bring him closer to the truth about his ancestry and show him a world he thought only existed in books. Fantastic and villainous creatures from Mayan folklore combine with clever, realistic, and heartwarming characters. VERDICT A page-turning and well-written trip into the world of Mayan mythology, perfect for fans of David Bowles's Garza "Twins" and Rick Riordan's "Percy Jackson" series.-Selenia Paz, Harris County Public Library, Houston, TX © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Summary
Zane would much rather explore the dormant volcano near his home in New Mexico than go to school with kids who bully him for his limp. But what Zane doesn't know is that the volcano is a gateway to another world, a world he's thrust into with his dog, Rosie, and the new girl at school, Brooks - kicking off an epic adventure full of surprising discoveries, dangerous secrets, and an all-out war between the gods. To survive, Zane will have to become the Storm Runner. But how can he run when he can't even walk well without a cane?
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1